Concert News Online Home arts news with a plus arts news with a plus

Concert News Online provides information about performing arts throughout the UK including music, opera, dance, theatre and visual arts events with direct links to relevant booking sites and venues*.

The Concert News Online home page is updated weekly with featured articles Concert News Online believes are the most newsworthy and relevant.

© Of listed promoter as received.   

Home |  Contact Us  |  Privacy  |

*All information, images and  content supplied by promoters or their agencies are correct at the time of publication and displayed as provided.  Concert News Online accepts no responsibility for changes to offers, the distribution of tickets or their availability.

Back to top

Concert News Online provides information about performing arts throughout the UK including music, opera, dance, theatre and visual arts events with direct links to relevant booking sites and venues. The Concert News Online Press Page is updated weekly with events also featured in the national press. Content supplied by Smart Arts Solutions*.

Royal Philharmonic Orchestra Jing Zhao performs Tan Dun
Tuesday 27 June 7.30pm Cadogan Hall

This concert opens with Manuel de Falla’s Danza ritual del fuego, a work brimming with pure excitement as a tale of a young gypsy girl’s frantic dance to lure the ghost of her jealous dead lover is illustrated. Next Maestro Tan Dun conducts Crouching Tiger Concerto – a work inspired from his Oscar-winning score.

And the drama doesn’t end there, as cellist Jing Zhao performs Intercourse of Fire and Water, a work based on balance and precision, before the concert concludes with Britten’s electrifyingly depictive Four Sea Interludes from his opera Peter Grimes.

Falla Danza ritual del fuego
Tan Dun Crouching Tiger Concerto
Tan Dun Intercourse of Fire and Water
Britten Four Sea Interludes from Peter Grimes

Tan Dun conductor
Jing Zhao cello

Philharmonia Orchestra and The Bach Choir
Royal Festival Hall Thursday 29 June, 7.30pm

The Bach Choir presents the second of their 'Best of British' concerts. The evening features Vaughan Williams' masterpiece A Sea Symphony, and the world premiere of Blow the trumpet in the new moon, commissioned by The Bach Choir from composer James MacMillan. Elgar's poignant Cello Concerto completes the musical line-up.

Philharmonia Orchestra

David Hill conductor

Raphael Wallfisch cello

Sally Matthews soprano

Roderick Williams baritone

The Bach Choir

James MacMillan: Blow the trumpet in the new moon(World premiere)

Elgar: Cello Concerto

Vaughan Williams: Symphony No.1 (A Sea Symphony)

Whitehall Choir St Peter’s Eaton Square
Thursday 06 July, 7.00pm

The Choir will sing a programme of English music of the 20th and 21st centuries:

Walton – Jubilate Deo  |  Britten – Te Deum in C  |  Paul Spicer – How do I love thee?

Elgar – Give unto the Lord  |  Stanford – For lo I raise up

Howells – My eyes for beauty pine  |  Howells – A Hymn for St Cecilia

Joubert – This is the gate of the Lord  |  Finzi – God is gone up

The concert will begin at 7:00pm on Thursday, 6 July, in St Peter's, Eaton Square.

The choir will be conducted for the last time by Paul Spicer and will be accompanied on the organ by Ian Tindale.

London Phoenix Orchestra The Art and Folk Music of Eastern Europe Thursday 29 June 7.30pm Cadogan Hall

An evening of music inspired by the Art and Folk Music of Eastern Europe, journeying from Poland to the highlands of Armenia, through to Russia. The concert opens with Witold Lutosławski’s Little Suite. Then brilliant Armenian violinist Ani Batikian joins the London Phoenix Orchestra, conducted by Levon Parikian, in Aram Khachaturian’s exuberant Violin Concerto, a work inspired by the dances and folk melodies of the medieval Armenian bards called ashughs.

The orchestra continues with Roland Roberts’ world premiere of The Ninth Wave, a homage to the Russian-Armenian marine painter Ivan Aivazovsky and a celebration of the 200th anniversary of his birth. The evening is concluded by Maurice Ravel’s famous 1922 orchestral arrangement of Modest Mussorgsky’s evocative progress through his Pictures at an Exhibition.